Introduction

For the fifth year, the Rochester Forth Conference was held at the University of Rochester. The Conference was sponsored by the Institute for Applied Forth Research, Inc. in cooperation with the Laboratory for Laser Energetics of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Rochester and the IEEE Computer Society.

We would like to thank the Conference's corporate sponsors: the Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, New York; Alfred Huthig Verlag, Heidelberg, West Germany; Novix, Santa Clara, California; Princeton Applied Research Corporation, Princeton, New Jersey; Videk, Rochester, New York; and the Rochester section of the IEEE. Our sponsors' contributions allowed us to support travel and expenses of invited speakers and participants from non-profit institutions. We had 175 participants attending from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, West Germany, Holland, South Africa and Austria.

This year's invited speakers were: Dr. Arnold Epstein, Loki Engineering, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Mr. Henry Harris, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California; Mr. Pierre Moreton, San Jose, California; and Ms. Elizabeth Rather, Forth, Inc., Beach, California. The speakers addressed Hermosa the and Conference theme of Software Productivity Project Their presentations appear in this Management. full in Proceedings.

Two exciting topics this year were Forth machines and realtime artificial intelligence (AI) applications. We had discussions of six different machines, and demonstrations of three of them: the Novix Betaboard, the Hartronix forth-engine and the Metaforth Ltd. engine. AI interest included biomedical applications, and both OPS/5 and Prolog implementations in Forth.

In addition to the platform sessions, this year's Conference included an entire day of demonstrations, vendor exhibits, and tutorials. I would like to thank our tutorial speakers: Don Colburn, Bill Dress, Chuck Duff, Arnie Epstein, Nick Francesco, Henry Harris, Dick Miller, Michael Perry, Elizabeth Rather, and Alan Winfield. I would also like to thank Harbour Research, Inc. and the University Computing Center for their assistance.

5

I especially wish to thank those whose dedication and hard work made the Conference a success: Sally Allison, Chris Bowe, Emily Forsley, Mark Garber, Thea Martin, Marcy McClenithan, Jonathan Ross, Sherry Snyder, the staff of Wilson Commons and University Residence Halls, and the Sigma Chi Fraternity.

> Lawrence P. Forsley Conference Chairman